FIFA will increase 32 teams to attend the 2023 women’s World Cup

Description: FIFA has approved plans to increase from 24 to 32 women’s football teams to participate in the World Cup (Women’s World Cup) in 2023 and reschedule the national approval process.

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be the 9th Women’s World Cup, the International Women’s Football Championship held every four years by The national team of FIFA member associations is organized from the middle of 2023. The tournament will increase from 24 to 32 teams, including the home team.

Choose a host

American Team won the championship at Women's World Cup
American Team won the championship at Women’s World Cup

The following eight countries have confirmed that they will bid for the 2023 Women’s World Cup and have submitted the required registration to FIFA: 

Banner Promotion From TT128
  1.  Argentina
  2.  Australia
  3.  Bolivia
  4.  Brasil
  5.  Colombia
  6. Japanese Japan Flag
  7.  New Zealand
  8.  South Africa
  • March 15, 2019: Deadline for submitting expressions of interest to FIFA
  • March 18, 2019: FIFA sends the tender registration letter and overview document
  • April 16, 2019: Deadline to register of bidding for FIFA
  • April 18, 2019: FIFA sends archives to member associations that return bids for registration by the deadline above.
  • October 4, 2019: Submit tender, signed archive agreement and all other archives to FIFA
  • February 2020: FIFA will publish bid evaluation reports
  • March 20, 2020: Estimated appointment date for the host by FIFA Council; it will be decided by the 37 FIFA council members whose votes will be made public after voting.
 The US won the 4th championship at the Women's World Cup 2019.
The US won the 4th championship at the Women’s World Cup 2019. 

Promising Prospects of Women’s World Cup

The Women’s World Cup has increased the number of participating teams from 12 teams in the first competition in 1991 to 24 teams for the third time.

The continued expansion of this tournament shows the outstanding development of women’s football. Football beauties can now compete with the men in the number of teams participating in the tournament, although the Men’s World Cup has increased to 32 teams since the 1998 World Cup.

Currently, there are 9 countries: Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Japan, New Zealand, South Africa and South Korea wishing to host the Women’s World Cup with the number of teams participating in this record. As originally planned, the host country will be announced in March 2020, but due to the increase in the number of teams eligible to play, it is likely that until May the final decision will be made.

According to FIFA President Gianni Infantino, it was the success of the Women’s World Cup 2019 in France, the high-quality tournament with the deserved coronation of the US national team that made the highest organization of world football through plans to increase the number of teams.

“The extension of up to 8 teams indicates that dozens of countries will devote financially and mentally in women’s football when the opportunity to come to the top world tournament is imminent.” – Mr. Gianni Infantino shared.

However, this FIFA announcement does not mention the bonus issue. In this year’s tournament, the US champion team received $ 4 million out of a total of $ 30 million in prize money for the entire tournament. This is far behind the prize money that the men’s soccer world championship team receives. The number that the French men’s soccer team received when winning the 2018 World Cup is $ 38 million in total prize money of $ 400 million. Immediately after recruiting the American woman to be crowned in Lyon (France) on July 5, the fans in the stands chanted in unison to claim equality of bonuses for women’s football.

FIFA announced that the total prize money for the 2022 Men’s World Cup would be $ 440 million and then also promised to double the prize money for women’s football in the 2023 tournament to 60 million USD.

Banner Promotion From TT128

Women’s World Cup ready to reach a new peak

Women’s World Cup, the largest team in history, will start on June 8. What makes the tournament most appealing is that every team has the opportunity to become a champion.

Four years ago, more than 750 million people worldwide watched the 2015 women world cup, held in Canada on television.

And this year, female football fans will have the opportunity to see each exciting development of the tournament in France, with the opening match on June 8 between the French host team welcoming Korean girls on the field. Parc des Princes (Paris). All more than 750,000 opening match tickets have been sold out, while the number of fans who want to go to the live view is still significant.

Women's World Cup
US team won the women’s World Cup 2019

At the present time, women’s football has attracted a lot of attention. The source of investment money for women’s football is considered the largest, the most sponsor and most importantly, with the right financial investment, the quality of the pitch is considered the best ever.

Players from all over the world in the women world cup will compete in the most professional terms. The female players trained from 5, 10 or 15 years old will have better techniques, high physical conditions as well as the opportunity to compete more than before.
Read more: