Ballon d’Or Award (The European Golden Ball) is a prize awarded by France Football magazine to the most outstanding player of each year, which is a milestone in every player’s career. At the same time, this is also the basis for comparing the best players in the history of world football.

1. Lionel Messi

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 6 (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019)  
Ballon d’Or Awards: 6 (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019)
Ballon d’Or Awards: 6 (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019)
Lionel Messi was born on June 24, 1987 as an Argentine player currently playing for Barcelona and the Argentina national team as a Striker. He is considered one of the best players of all time and in the race to win the 9-year Golden Ball title with Cristiano Ronaldo, Messi is now the winner when he is 6 times accepted to receive the award. 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019.   In his playing career, Lionel Messi has won many noble titles with the Barcelona club, most notably 8 times to win the La Liga, 4 times to win the Champions League. However, Messi did not really impress when playing in Argentina’s shirt, he failed in 3 consecutive finals in the 2014 World Cup, 2015 Copa America and 2016 Copa America.  

2. Cristiano Ronaldo

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 4 (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016)  
Ballon d’Or Awards: 4 (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016)
Ballon d’Or Awards: 4 (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016)
In 2016, the Golden Ballon of Europe was awarded to the star of Real Madrid and Portugal – Cristiano Ronaldo, bringing his Golden Ball collection to 4. Cristiano Ronaldo is the best player in Portuguese football history. At the same time, he is also the player who scored the most goals when playing in the Real Madrid club shirt. He and his Real Madrid team-mates won the La Liga once, twice won the Champions League in 2014 and 2016, European runner-up in 2004 and 4th place in the 2006 World Cup.  

3. Michel Platini

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 3 (1983, 1984, 1985)   French football has produced a lot of talent and among them, Michel Platini is considered the greatest character. Michel Platini was born on June 21, 1955 in France, he is the best Midfielder France has ever born.   His career peaked in the 1984-1985 season when he and the French team won the European Championship and after that winning the Champions League with the Juventus club.  

4. Johan Cruyff

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 3 (1971, 1973, 1974)   Johan Cruyff was born on April 25, 1947 in the Netherlands, who has a career associated with the most beautiful years in Ajax club history. He took the role of captain and won the Netherlands twice, three times won European champions. In addition, he also joined the Dutch team until the 1974 World Cup Final.   As a coach, he led the Barcelona club 4 times to win the La Liga and once to the European Championship in 1992. He is also known as the person who laid the foundation for Barcelona’s mixed play style. On March 24, 2016, Johan Cruyff passed away after a period of tenacious fighting with cancer.  

5. Marco van Basten

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 3 (1988, 1989, 1992)  
Ballon d’Or Awards: 3 (1988, 1989, 1992)
Ballon d’Or Awards: 3 (1988, 1989, 1992)
Marco van Basten was born on October 31, 1964 as a Dutch coach and former player. He is considered the best in the legendary trio “The Flying Dutchman” of AC Milan club. In his playing career, he has won the Dutch championship with Ajax club 3 times and when playing for AC Milan, he has won 4 Scudetto and 2 European champions. While playing for the Dutch team, Marco van Basten won the European Championship with his teammates and he was also the best player, the top scorer of the 1988 season.  

6. Franz Beckenbauer

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1972, 1976)   Franz Beckenbauer has been dubbed the “Emperor” enough to see his talent and influence not only in German football but also in the world. He was the birth of Libero of modern football and was one of only two people in the history of winning the World Cup both as a player and coach (in 1974 and 1990), the other being Mario Zagallo of Brazil.   In his great history, Franz Beckenbauer won the silver Bundesliga with Bayern Munchen club, won the European Championship three times and together with Hamburger SV won a silver disc in 1982. In addition, captain Franz Beckenbauer of the team. West Germany won the European Championship in 1972, the World Championship in 1974 and as a coach, he led the German team to the World Championship in 1990.  

7. Ronaldo

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1997, 2002)
Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1997, 2002)
Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1997, 2002)
Ronaldo was born on September 18, 1976 as one of the best strikers in Brazilian football and in the world. He is known as the “Alien” when he is the only player to win all the titles in the World Cup: World Cup winner, World Cup Golden Ball, World Cup Golden Shoe.   He, along with his teammate – Zidane, became the two players with the most FIFA Player of the Year awards three times, in 1996, 1997 and 2002. However, Ronaldo has a career in competition. Club match was not impressed due to the injuries that he repeatedly encountered.  

8. Alfredo Di Stéfano

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1957, 1959)   Alfredo Di Stéfano was born on July 4, 1926, is a former Argentinian player and coach. His name and career are associated with Real Madrid Club. Alfredo Di Stéfano and Ferenc Puskás created a pair of European strikers. From 1954 to 1964, he won the European Championship with the Real Madrid club five times and the Spanish champion eight times.   However, because the former European Ballon d’Or was only awarded to European players, it was not until he was a Spanish national that Alfredo Di Stéfano earned this noble title in 1957.  

9. Kevin Keegan

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1978, 1979)   Kevin Keegan was born on February 14, 1951, is a former coach and one of the greatest players in English football. However, every success in his playing career was tied to the Hamburger SV Club. Kevin Keegan, together with this club, won 2 Bundesliga silver discs and once set foot in the European Finals. This success helped him own 2 consecutive Ballon d’Or in 1978, 1979 and he is also the only English to win the Golden Ball title twice.  

10. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

Number of Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1980, 1981)  
Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1980, 1981)
Ballon d’Or Awards: 2 (1980, 1981)
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge was born on September 25, 1955, is a former German player and currently the CEO of Bayern Munchen. He is a German football legend and with Bayern Munchen, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge has won an intercontinental cup and a European championship.   When playing in Germany, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge won the runner-up position with his teammates at the 1982 FIFA World Cup and the 1986 FIFA World Cup and the European Championship in 1980.