How many Southeast Asian teams have won the AFF Cup in a row?

Before Vietnam, Thailand and Malaysia have dominated Southeast Asian football for a long time with consecutive titles at the SEA Games and the AFF Cup.

The Southeast Asian Football Championship (AFF Cup) is a football tournament among Southeast Asian national teams organized by the Southeast Asian Football Federation (AFF). This tournament was first held in Singapore in 1996 as the Tiger Cup. At the 6th tournament (2007), the name was changed to AFF Championship. In 2008, Japanese auto company Suzuki bought the naming rights to the contest, from which the contest was called the AFF Suzuki Cup.

Thailand (1991 – 1997)

Thai people were crowned 5 times in a row at the SEA Games 1991, 1993, 1995, 1997 and the AFF Cup in 1996. This is still the period of dominating the longest area of ​​a Southeast Asian national team.

Banner Promotion From TT128

Netipong Srithong-in was Thailand’s star during this period when he won the AFF Cup 1996 scorer. Also in the 1996 tournament, Vietnam of Nguyen Hong Son (white shirt) reached the semi-finals, losing to Thailand 2 -4.


Thailand (1999 – 2003)

Interrupted by Singapore’s 1998 AFF Cup championship, Thailand once again returned to the hegemony with three crowns at the SEA Games 1999, 2001, 2003 and two AFF Cup 2000, 2002.

With Kiatisak Senamuang (red shirt) in the squad, Thailand proved too strong compared to rivals. 2/3 of Thailand’s gold medal in this period comes after the victory over Vietnam in the final.


Malaysia (2009 – 2011)

Malaysia was the first team to break Thailand’s dominance in the AFF Cup and the SEA Games. The Malaysian defeated Henrique Calisto Vietnam in the final of the 2009 conference, crowned the 2011 conference and won the AFF Cup 2010 of the national team. Therefore, this period shows the comprehensive and strong development at the levels of Malaysian football.

Thailand (2013 – 2017)

Malaysia’s dominance did not last long. Returning to the team as head coach, Kiatisak continued to become a nightmare for Southeast Asia with the titles of SEA Games 2013, 2015, 2017 and AFF Cup 2014, 2016.

This is also the time of the “Golden Generation”’s birth with Chanathip Songkrasin, the student of Kiatisak (pictured), as the locomotive. The characteristics of this period are victories, on the continent such as 4th place of the Asian Games 2014, tickets to the qualifying rounds at the 2018 World Cup in Asia.


Vietnam (2018 – present)

Vietnam is the first time in the history of the consecutive championship of the two AFF Cup 2018 and SEA Games 2019, the third football platform in the region to do this. Although the domination time is not too long, Vietnam is a pioneer in Asia with a series of victories such as Asian U23 runner-up, fourth Asian Games, Asian Cup quarter-finals.

Banner Promotion From TT128

The imprint of Vietnamese football in this period was associated with the name Park Hang-Seo. The Korean coach used to be Guus Hiddink’s assistant at the 2002 World Cup, but only really reached the peak at the end of his career with Vietnam.
Read more =>>