How have the last nine rounds of the Premier League changed?

The 28-year history from the inception of the Premier League has witnessed many changes at the finish stage, and that is why Liverpool has not guaranteed anything when the tournament is stopped in the 29th round.

How have the last nine rounds of the Premier League changed?

Liverpool – with 25 points more than the second team Man City – only two victories away from the historic championship. But the Premier League is also experiencing an unprecedented moment, when the Covid-19 pandemic caused the tournament to be delayed.

Let’s look back on this period of the last decade, to see what the last nine rounds can change for a season.

2010-2011 season: Man Utd champion, Wigan miraculous escape.

Man Utd – Premier League champion of this season. After 29 games, Man Utd took the lead with 60 points, more than three points but kicked one match more than second-placed Arsenal. The next two positions are Man City (53 points) and Chelsea (51 points) respectively. Tottenham finished fifth with three points less and still had the opportunity to surpass Chelsea to win the Champions League ticket. In the relegation race, Wigan lost the position in the table with 27 points, four points from the safety group. The two teams in the same situation are West Ham and Wolves. The distance between the three teams is two points.

How have the last nine rounds of the Premier League changed?

Wigan – thanks to the hero Hugo Rodallega – experienced a great sprint. In the final round, the team in the Greater Manchester area increased by three places to finish the season with a position of 16. Blackpool, Birmingham and West Ham must be relegated to the First Division.

2011-2012 Season: Aguero and Super Hero first championship of City.

How have the last nine rounds of the Premier League changed?

Man Utd won 1-0, and thought the 20th British championship was within reach. However, in the last second, Sergio Aguero scored a 3-2 victory for the team then led by coach Roberto Mancini. As a result, Man City achieved the same 89 points as Man Utd but became the champion due to the better secondary index. For the first time in 44 years, the blue half of Manchester won the Premier League champion in England.

2012-2013 season: Man Utd is crowned 20th and the separation of Alex Ferguson.

A year after the bitter stumble, Man Utd is determined to regain what belongs to him. 

The highlight of this season, it is the separation with Alex Ferguson. Scotland’s “old man” is not only a Man Utd legend, but also the greatest figure in the English Premier League. With the 20th England championship, he parted on a dazzling peak. So far, it is still the last time Man Utd reigns the throne of Premier League champion football.

2013-2014 season: Gerrard’s foot slip and Liverpool’s hatred.

After Sir Alex “washed his sword”, Man Utd weakened, resulting in chaos in the English Premier League. Liverpool rises strongly, and compete for the championship with other giants. This is also the season Jose Mourinho returned to Chelsea.

Just waiting for that, Man City took the lead, and ended the season in the highest throne with 86 points. Liverpool accepted on second with two fewer points. Man Utd ended the disaster season in seventh place.

2014-2015 Premier League: Honoring “The Special One” Mourinho.

The first season returned to England but did not yield satisfactory results, Jose Mourinho coached extremely carefully for the next season. He brought three stars of La Liga, Diego Costa, Cesc Fabregas and Felipe Luis to Stamford Bridge.

The three teams that have to play in the First Division next season are Hull City, Burnley and QPR. A highlight that not many people pay attention this season, is Leicester relegation success. In the 29th round, the “Foxes” also ranked poorly with 19 points, seven points away from the relegation group. But in the rest of the way, Jamie Vardy and his team won 22 out of 27 points. It was that miraculous sprint that created a history for the Premier League champion next season.

2015-2016 Premier League: A fairy tale called Leicester City.

After relegation was successful, Leicester parted ways with coach Nigel Pearson and joined Claudio Ranieri. Back in England, the Italian military brought back some unknown names such as N’Golo Kante, Shinji Okazaki, Christian Fuchs, Daniel Amartey, Demarai Gray or thought to be the end of Robert Huth, Gokhan Inler. In the whole season, he only spent 30 million USD for the transfer.

2016-2017 Premier League: Conte’s tactical revolution.

Creating a miraculous milestone for Leicester, but in the next season, coach Ranieri was hit by the same curse as Mourinho, and had to leave after the successive series of defending champions. The Italian military leader could not stand until the 29th round – when Leicester ranked 15th.

The three teams to part ways in the Premier League are Hull City, Middlesbrough and Sunderland. They have been scorching since the 29th round, and maintained that sad performance until the end of the 38th round.

2017-2018 season: The revenge of Pep Guardiola.

Man Utd fans have been waiting for the so-called “Mourinho’s second season”. But in the end, they had to look away from the noisy neighbor – where Man City showed unparalleled strength under Guardiola.

In fact, the Premier League champion throne was decided right after phase one. After the round of 19, Man City reached 55 points, 13 points more than the second team Man Utd. And after the 29th, the distance is 16 points. In the end, Man City won the Premier League with 100 points, while Man Utd came second with 81 points. The remaining two Champions League places belong to Tottenham and Liverpool.

2018-2019 season: Choking Man City – Liverpool race.

Liverpool played the best season in history. They deserve to win the Champions League, and compete in the Premier League champion with Man City.

Man City was crowned the second time Premier League champion in a row with 98 points, while Liverpool, 97 points, became the highest runner-up team in history.
Read more: