Ballon d’Or and The Best FIFA awards are not the same


Messi who received the Best FIFA Football Award 2019 is unlikely to win the Ballon d’Or 2019 though this happened many years ago.

Over a period of 5 years, the FIFA Men’s Player Award and the Ballon d’Or have come together to honor the best football player in the world.

But this year, they were separated and returned to the original award meaning. This allows 2 different players to be honored for these two prestigious awards. It is not necessary for a player to win both.

Banner Promotion From TT128
France Ballon d'Or
France Ballon d’Or
  1. The difference between the title of the Golden Ball and the FIFA Best Player

The difference between these two awards comes from the organizations behind them.

The Ballon d’Or (Golden Ball) was originally founded by French football French Publication in 1956, with the first winner being Sir Stanley Matthews. It is often called the European football award of the year and this was also the first award of the sport until 1991.

That year, FIFA also introduced their own award as the World Player of the Year Award and allowed non-European players to be considered for this award since 1995.

FIFA Golden Ballon (FIFA Ballon d'Or)
FIFA Golden Ballon (FIFA Ballon d’Or)

Both awards went hand in hand until 2010. After that, they were combined into FIFA Ballon d’Or (FIFA Golden Ball) – which will only recognize one of the best players in the world.

Within 6 consecutive years, Lionel Messi has won 4 times compared to 2 times of Cristiano Ronaldo.

Just last year, FIFA president, Gianni Infantino, removed the combination of the two awards and allowed them to return to their original meaning.

  1. How are Ballon d’Or and FIFA Men’s Player of the Year Awards?

The Ballon d’Or will only be evaluated by a select group of journalists.

Banner Promotion From TT128

But the FIFA Player of the Year award will be determined by a complex voting system.

Ronaldo, Virgil van Dijk and Messi competed for The Best FIFA 2019
Ronaldo, Virgil van Dijk and Messi competed for The Best FIFA 2019

Accordingly, 50% of decisions will be based on votes from captains and coaches from national teams around the globe, the remaining 50% will be divided among the public online votes and votes from a group of 200 representatives communication area.

  1. Can two prizes be awarded to 2 different players?

The FIFA Player of the Year award and the Ballon d’Or 2019 can be awarded to two separate players.

This means that Ronaldo and Messi can win these two separate awards in the same year.

Ronaldo and the Golden Ball honors for many years
Ronaldo and the Golden Ball honors for many years

Players who have previously won both awards in the past:

+ 2016: Cristiano Ronaldo

+ 2017: Cristiano Ronaldo

+ 2018: Luka Modric

  1. 2019 FIFA Golden Ball: History of Messi’s name?

Lionel Messi has won the 6th Golden Ball award in his career, thereby becoming the winner of this award the most in history.

After winning the FIFA The Best 2019 award, Lionel Messi officially holds the Golden Ball Award 2019 of France Football newspaper. With the 6th award received, Messi set the record as the most Golden Ball winner in history.

Sharing after being honored, Messi said: “Thank you, my teammates, at the club. This is great. Thank you very much.”

Messi and the 6th Golden Ball. Photo: France Football
Messi and the 6th Golden Ball. Photo: France Football

With this glory of Messi, Barcelona becomes the club that owns the most Golden Balls with 12 players who have won the prize of France Football. Messi is 6 times.

The people behind Messi are Virgil van Dijk (2nd) and Ronaldo (3rd). This gala night without Ronaldo, he is said to have known the result so he did not attend.

Messi’s first victory took place 10 years ago, when he was a young star with Barca Guardiola’s Pep Guardiola won the Champions League, La Liga and the Copa del Rey. Last season, Barca won La Liga, but lost to the King’s Cup final, eliminated in the Champions League semi-final. Even so, personally, no one stands out more than Messi.

Messi was the 6th Golden Ball in his career
Messi was the 6th Golden Ball in his career

Award categories of the 2019 Golden Ball Gala:

Ballon d’Or 2019: Lionel Messi

– Women’s Golden Ball (Ballon d’Or Feminin): Megan Rapinoe

– Best Goalkeeper (Yachine Trophy): Alisson Becker

– Best young player (Kopa Trophy): Matthijs de Ligt