The world of football has produced a lot of great football players throughout history but not everyone has reached the peak of their careers, as the AS magazine has put out the 9 superstars have missed the “Golden Ball”.

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon

Gianluigi Buffon
Gianluigi Buffon

As the main factor that brings Italy to the world championship at the 2006 World Cup with keeping a clean sheet in 5 matches in the finals, but despite being close to the glory, Gianluigi Buffon still has to look at Fabio Cannavaro (his teammate) taking the “the Golden Ball” that year.

Historically, there was only one goalkeeper, Lev Yashin, who was awarded the “Golden Ball” in 1963. When France Football magazine decided to honor an award for the best goalkeeper of the year since 2019. Named the talented Soviet goalkeeper, Buffon was not honored even though he had the 9th Scudetto in his career.

Banner Promotion From TT128

Midfielder: Paolo Maldini

Sticking his whole career with AC Milan and was hailed as one of the best defenders of football, but Paolo Maldini still does not have a chance to have the “Golden Ball” award. There is just two times third place in 1994 and 2003.

In the golden stage of AC Milan with Italian and European football, Maldini always stood from afar to watch his famous teammates such as Ruud Gullit, Marco van Basten, Frank Rijkaard and Franco Baresi step on the highest victory podium of “Golden Ball”. The most unfortunate thing in a midfielder’s career that always makes every top striker afraid to face.

Midfielder: Bobby Moore

Bobby Moore
Bobby Moore

Even Pele, the star named “King of Football” in the 1960s of the previous century, did not like to face the midfielder, England captain Bobby Moore, who was dubbed the “butcher of attackers”

Bobby Moore was the key factor helping England win the 1966 World Cup, the first and only world title so far. However, later that year, his teammate Bobby Charlton has earnt the “Golden Ball” award, he was not even named in the top 3 of the winning candidates. He almost reached the prestigious award four years later when he came second place after Gerd Müller, the German top Scorer of the 1970 World Cup and the owner of the “European Golden Shoe” title that same year.

Defender: Philipp Lahm

Former captain Bayern Munich Philipp Lahm throughout his illustrious career has won the Bundesligas 8 times, won 6 German National Cups and is the model captain of the German team who won the world championship at 20147 World Cup. However, this talented defender never gained the “Golden Ball”, though being present in the list of 3 winning candidates.

Defender: Roberto Carlos

Roberto Carlos
Roberto Carlos

Considered the ability to “bend every flying trajectory” of the ball, the Brazilian winger is considered one of the best defenders of all time. However, like many other colleagues playing at defense position, Roberto Carlos had to accept to be a “shadow” for the stars at the attack position. including many Brazilian compatriots.

In 2002, Carlos played very wall but only in the second place in “Golden Ball”. His compatriot football player Ronaldo Nazario took the first place that year.

Banner Promotion From TT128

Midfielder: Paul Gascoigne

Hailed as the best football player of his generation, even every generation of English football, Paul Gascoigne’s golden stage in his career is when he brought England to the Semi-finals of the 1990 World Cup. Unfortunately, Gascoigne only in fourth place at the “Golden Ball” award.

Paul Gascoigne
Paul Gascoigne

A year later, Gascoigne has a serious knee injury but could back to the field right on time in 1996. England has Gascoigne reached the semi-finals of Euro 1996 in the home field and. This midfielder has left an impression with one of the super products of the century by scoring a goal when against Scotland.

Midfielder: Eric Cantona

Having France champion title with Lille, Eric Cantona has agreed to move to Manchester United and is the most favorable contract in Sir Alex Ferguson’s career at Old Trafford. Cantona himself deserves to be considered one of the best midfielders in the world of all time.

Has won 4 British championships, 2 FA Cups, Cantona came third place in the 1993 “Golden Ball”. France’s troubles and controversy have led the football player to say goodbye to “Les Blues” in 1995.

Midfielder: Marco Tardelli

Marco Tardelli
Marco Tardelli

The maker of the goals of the 1982 World Cup final and the impressive celebration in the match, along with the Serie A champion title with Juventus. Marco Tardelli was still not considered in the “Golden Ball” in the same year.

His teammate in Italy, the striker Paolo Rossi has taken all the glory from the “Golden Ball”, “Golden Shoe” World Cup, to “Golden Ball” of France Football. Tardelli only ranked 15th in this prestigious award!

Midfielder: Andres Iniesta

The France Football magazine apologized to Iniesta when this football player left Barcelona club in the summer of 2018, for failing to give him the opportunity to become “the best player in the world”. The Spanish national team could not win the best ranking at the 2018 World Cup, making his farewell day even sadder. At the end of the year, he was not even on the “Golden Ball” nomination list.

The France Football should have given this amazing football player the “2010 Golden Ball” when he played extremely well, winning La Liga with Barcelona and winning the World Cup with Spain, in which he was the only goal maker in the final match with the Netherlands. Instead, the award was given to Lionel Messi, despite Argentina being eliminated from the World Cup quarter-finals!